What Will They Remember?

Energy conservation is important, but some of the details can be a little dry. Who gets excited about caulk and insulation batts? As manager of conservation for a gas utility, I planned, chaired and presented at many training conferences. Energy auditors would attend for two or three days to learn the latest and greatest. Once, I was asked to do a presentation on furnace maintenance. Wow! There’s a subject to get the juices flowing! So I decided to have fun with it.Clean3

I ditched my suit in favor of a set of blue coveralls and a cap. I made a set of transparencies with felt markers, using crude drawings of burners, flames and filters. One of the transparencies had the word “Clean” repeated three times. I did that talk four times before a total audience of about 400 people.
About five years later, at another training session, a man walked up to me and said the words, “Clean, Clean, Clean!”  He told me he always remembered that talk, and its key concept. So, because I had decided to do my very best with a rather boring assignment, I had left a favorable impression on at least one guy who had been to dozens of training sessions and who had heard numerous professional presenters.

There’s no place for shortcuts. Every task requires your very best. You never know what impact you might have, or what they will remember about you.

Ephesians 6:6-7 (CSB) Don’t work only while being watched, as people-pleasers, but as slaves of Christ, do God’s will from your heart. Serve with a good attitude, as to the Lord and not to people.

 

Leave a Reply

